By propcicle
Just got this bad boy in the mail today:

My plan is to work this into a fully operational PKE (lights, sound and motion) at some point in the future. After I get the pack projects complete, I'll switch over to this. I have a couple Arduino UNO boards sitting around that I think I can program to do what I want. I know there's been a couple folks who have tackled this, but I've been unsuccessful in finding any code. After I figure this out, I will open source the code if there's interest. More updates to come...
By propcicle
With Halloween over and the proton pack now sitting as a display piece, I started playing around with the Arduino uno boards I've got. Since the uno only has 14 digital IO pins, I knew I was going to have to be creative with triggering at least 30 lights or so. I first started thinking about the graph lights as they would also trigger the wing lights. I used 7 outputs, one for each graph light, and then added 2 more outputs to designate which graph was active. This worked fine and I could probably work this with only the five outputs left (maybe).

Slept on it over night and decided to look at using the 4017 decade counter with a clock trigger output from the uno. This would let me drive 14 lights with only 3 outputs (one clock and two to determine which graph light grouping). I also set up a rheostat to set the light durations and a switch to go back and forth between the lights. So here's where I am now, only using up 5 of my IO pins, including the rheostat input. Next I need to find some small servos to play around with for the wing actuators. I haven't decided how I'm going to trigger the wing lights yet, but I have at least a couple options.