In 1914, when Varick Street was being widened, the FDNY considered demolishing the 11-year old engine house and moving to a new site. The cost of the parcel of land was $110,000, and the cost of demolition of the existing building would've been an additional $25,000. Due to the high costs, the FDNY instead chopped the building in half, reducing the total cost of the project to $20,000.
Like major renovation projects today, a fresh set of plans had to be drawn up, and the Department of Records showcased the sheet featuring the front/rear elevations in a tweet highlighting the LEGO Firehouse set, released six years prior.
Although the limestone gateway for the alley has long-since vanished, and the apparatus bay doors are modern reproductions, a number of other period features remain, including the swinging crane, visible on the ground floor of the rear elevation.