I'ts been 10 years since I started my last scratchbuild shell and I thought it would be a great anniversary to start my final build that I've been talking myself in and out of for the past several years. My previous shell is something I'm very proud of and grateful for but has a few quirks I wanted to re-adjust. I probably could of more or less just pulled a cast from my mold and hacked into it and made the adjustments necessary but I thought it would be more fun to just start from the ground up and document my progress as it might help some future scratchbuilders that are eager to start their own builds.

I've got some new measurements from MBurkit (Thank you) in addition to some previous ones I've had that might help fill in some gaps in the areas I more or less had to guess. I know Mack Factory is releasing a direct cast Sony Lobby Hero/Spengler shell that will put an end to all the measurement speculation but until then I thought it would be more fun and perhaps nostalgic to be like the old days and try to get as close as I can without having it on hand.

As for the materials I will be using .080 styrene for most of the structure and of course will be using .125 (1/8 inch) for the various ribs, cyclotron rings, and syncgen plates. Looking back in hindsight I can't believe I finished my first shell in roughly 2 months. This shell might take a little longer then that as I plan to be a lot more tedious with the measurements.

Of course I started with the powercell like my last build. This probably took me 7 hours plus to build, I thought I completely nailed it then I went back did some various double checking of measurements from different angles and I was off a hair....partially tore it down and rebuilt it to spec.

Here is the styrene workspace to start with. I usually start by measuring all my templates/faces out on some styrene. I always cut a tad more so I have material to work with in case I was off or undercut.