By TragicManner
Hey Everyone! The main body of this post is to go over my impressions of the Spirit Ghost Trap, what I would like to change on it, and how I plan on doing some of the modifications. At the bottom of the post, I have a few questions and pleas for help, so if you'd like to skip to that you can.

Introduction
So, over the weekend I picked up a Spirit Ghost Trap and made an unboxing video as well as a teardown video.

Since I'm new to prop building, and really like that these traps were produced, I thought it would be a great idea to try and mod one of them. So, taking what I learned taking mine apart, I've decided to set a few goals.

Project Goals (In rough order, order and list items subject to change):
  • Replace the mechanism for opening and closing the doors with something that can be triggered electronically [COMPLETE]
  • Replace the existing circuit board with an arduino and supporting hardware for controlling LEDs [COMPLETE]
  • Replace the existing wheels with bearings [COMPLETE]
  • Look into either reinforcing or replacing the existing handle [COMPLETE]
  • Replace the power panel on top of the trap with a new plate that can be removed to access some components inside [COMPLETE]
  • Add an aluminum/faux-aluminum plating to the front of the trap [COMPLETE]
  • Either paint the existing large panels to make them look like aluminum or replace them with aluminum [COMPLETE]
  • Paint all the black surfaces [COMPLETE]
  • Add more accurate plating around the yellow status bar graph LED opening [COMPLETE] (I decided against adding plating for now, and instead added a LED holder for the additional yellow LED)
  • Replace all fake knobs with functional knobs, give the top LED a more film accurate casing, replace the power switch with a more screen accurate toggle [COMPLETE]
  • Add actual screws where they exist in the films, including on the aluminum plating, on the sides of the yellow status LED housing, etc [COMPLETE]