By adolamin
Hello everyone,
I'm currently working on a TC v3 kit with some gbfans upgrades, including the gun light kit and sound board. I have the 3/4" non-split loom from the store. Here is my question...how do I fit the connector cable between the sound board and light board into the loom? The black connector on the end of the cable doesn't seem to fit and I can't figure out a way to force it. Is it easy to remove and re-use this type of connector? I have zero experience with this type of thing.

Thanks!
By adolamin
Here is a picture that shows the 14pin connector on the ribbon cable that connects the GBfans gun light kit to the GBfans sound board and the 3/4" wire loom purchased from the GBfans shop.
After some looking around I think I'll just cut the connector and replace it. That seems the easiest, cleanest option, but any further advice would be greatly appreciated!
By gbchef
It will go. What I did was you have to turn the connector vertical and then twist the cable so it’s in a tube type shape. To make things easier tie a long piece of string to the connector to help pull it through. It will take a few minutes and some patience, but it can be done.
By Kingpin
It's been a while since I've messed around with one of those connectors, but I think it might also be possible to temporarily remove it, as it's only held on with clips on the sides.
By adolamin
Thanks for the advice everyone. I went with gbchef’s advice, turning the connector vertically and after some patience it worked. Partway through though my pull string broke off so I ended up using a push rod to get it the rest of the way. Works and looks great!
By jreverhart
I just did this for mine steps I took:
1: twist ribbon cable so its tightly wound like a spiral, same way you stick your packs large ribbon cable through the shell.
2. 2 wire coat hangers straightened out, linked together, on one end make a loop and place your ribbon connector in it sideways (the connector will fit in sideways)